Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Trap
Cover of The Trap
The Trap
Borrow Borrow
Now in paperback, the twisted debut thriller about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer—but is he really the killer? The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous...
Now in paperback, the twisted debut thriller about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer—but is he really the killer? The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Now in paperback, the twisted debut thriller about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer—but is he really the killer?
    The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous for more than just her bestselling novels. For over eleven years, she has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Far-fetched, sometimes sinister rumors surround the shut-in writer, but they pale in comparison to the chilling truth: Linda is haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister, whom she discovered in a pool of blood twelve years ago, and by the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene.
    Now plagued by panic attacks, Linda copes with debilitating anxiety by secluding herself in her house, her last safe haven. But the sanctity of this refuge is shattered when her sister's murderer appears again—this time on her television screen. Empowered with sudden knowledge but hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use her only means of communication with the outside world—the plot of her next novel—to lay an irresistible trap for the man.
    But as the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories of that traumatic night—and her very sanity—are called into question. Is this man really a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

About the Author-

  • Melanie Raabe was born in 1981 and grew up in a small village in former East Germany. After studying media and literature, she went on to become a magazine editor, freelance journalist, writer, and stage actor. While juggling several jobs by day, she wrote at night, crafting two plays and The Trap, which is her debut novel. Melanie Raabe currently lives in Cologne and loves the stage, traveling, cooking, bungee jumping, tattoos, indie rock, and cats.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    May 2, 2016
    Linda Conrads, the narrator of German author Raabe’s suspenseful if flawed first novel, hasn’t left her home near Munich in the 11 years since the stabbing murder of her sister, Anna. She actually caught a glimpse of a man leaving the crime scene, and when she sees journalist Victor Lenzen on TV, she’s certain that he’s the man who killed Anna. Linda, who’s a celebrity author, begins to plan a trap that involves a new novel based on the murder. Interviews with her are in high demand, so she arranges for Victor to interview her, but as Linda and Victor engage in cat-and-mouse exchanges, she often second-guesses herself. Victor seems to be exactly who he claims to be: a successful journalist who’s certainly no killer. Excerpts from Linda’s novel give insight into the events leading up to the crime. The tension rises, but the final revelation is a letdown that diminishes the otherwise taut storytelling. Agent: David Forrer, Inkwell Management.

  • Library Journal

    November 15, 2015

    Best-selling author Linda Conrads, star of first-time German author Raabe's intricate thriller, spots the man who fled the scene of her sister's murder and sets up a plot in her next novel to entrap him. With movie rights to TriStar Pictures and a 100,000-copy first printing.

    Copyright 2015 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    May 1, 2016
    German author Raabe puts together an intricately constructed story featuring a woman haunted by her sister's death. Linda Conrads, a bestselling author who writes lyrical prose, is tormented by a dark and terrible burden: her sister, Anna, was murdered more than a decade ago. Linda caught a glimpse of her sister's killer and has been unable to cope with life ever since. She retreated to a home that's both a fortress and a hideaway and hasn't left it in years, stirring much speculation among her readers. Then one night Linda recognizes a well-known television journalist as her sister's killer and decides to set a trap for him. She immerses herself in research and uncharacteristically writes a crime thriller in which she describes her sister's murder. Then she invites the man to her home to interview her; it's an invitation he cannot turn down--the press has been dying to interview the reclusive author--and the game to extract a confession out of him begins. Raabe has a good idea: take a reclusive author and have her dangle herself as bait, but despite the intriguing premise, the novel's hard to read for many reasons. The dialogue is ponderous and clunky. The characters are never fully developed. There's a lot of padding and verbal throat-clearing before Raabe gets to the long game, and when she does, readers will be confounded at the execution of Linda's plan, which includes writing an entire novel in order to trap the man she thinks of as the bad guy. There's also a story within the story, as the reader also has to plough through Linda's lackluster novel, which is interwoven with the main tale. The result is anything but thrilling. Despite the nicely done twists and turns, this melodramatic mess is hard to love.

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    May 1, 2016
    Suffering from depression, anxiety, hallucinations, and panic attacks, Linda Conrads is agoraphobic and hasn't left her home since her sister was murdered 11 years earlier. Linda discovered the body, caught a glimpse of the murderer as he left the apartment, and has been haunted by the scene ever since. Fortunately, Linda is a very successful novelist, so she has the means to live her life isolated on a luxurious estate. Her only links to the outside world are her editor, her part-time assistant, and television. She is watching the news when she suddenly realizes the reporter, Victor Lenzen, is her sister's murderer. She decides to set a trap; she writes a thriller utilizing all the details of her sister's murder, then arranges for her first interview in 12 yearswith Victor. Linda hopes to maneuver him into a confession, but her careful plan goes horribly awry. A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2016, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Hachette Audio
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Trap
The Trap
Melanie Raabe
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Trap
The Trap
Melanie Raabe
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Rancocas Valley Regional High School District, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close